Are Mormons Christian?

"Mormons are weird. I mean, they read the Bible, but they have another Bible? Revelations says you can't add to God's word anyway. There's no way they can be Christian."

It's something I've heard over and over in my lifetime–in fact, I heard it yesterday when I was asked to leave my favorite Bible journaling group. Unfortunately, it's also technically not true.

Sure, Mormons are kind of weird. I mean, who else willingly wears long pants, capris, or Bermuda shorts with regular t-shirts in the middle of 100•F weather? We kind of stick out once in a while because of it, but we don't have another Bible. I mean, we have scripture that's different from the Bible that we accept as the word of God, but so do the Jews and followers of Islam.

Before I get to the Book of Mormon (and I'll get there), let's talk about Revelations. In the last chapter of the book it says:

"If any man shall add unto these things, God shall add unto him the plagues that are written in this book".

Pretty serious, right? I'd say so. And since Revelations is conveniently placed at the end of the Bible many people have concluded that the warning is to anyone who tries to add to the Bible itself. What most of Christian people don't realize is that Revelations was actually written before a majority of the New Testament. Chronologically it was written concurrently with the gospels. That doesn't mean we disregard all of the New Testament after John ends. I mean, if we did we wouldn't have the admonition of Paul, we wouldn't have the epistles if the ancient disciples of Christ, we wouldn't have very much of any New Testament at all.

In reality, John the Revelator was speaking specifically of the codex he wrote. The Bible wasn't all nicely put together and added to from time to time. It's made up of different codices that complement each other.

So, by having additional scriptures, no one is violating John's warning.

Now, onto the Book of Mormon and whether or not Mormons are really Christian or not.

The Book of Mormon is scripture. That's what it is. You don't have to believe in it just like you don't have to believe in the Torah or Quran. The Book of Mormon can be summed up pretty neatly in one verse from the Second Book of Nephi (which is one of the books in the book). The scripture says:

And we talk of Christ, we rejoice in Christ, we preach of Christ, we write of Christ, and we write according to our prophecies, that our children may know to what source they may look for a remission of their sins.

2nd Nephi 25:26

Pretty neat little mission statement there. But that is literally the purpose of all Christian scripture. To bring people to Christ. The Book of Mormon doesn't take away from the Bible; it doesn't replace the Bible either, it complements the Bible. It testifies of the Bible's truthfulness while showing the "other sheep which are not of this fold" that Christ spoke about to the apostles.

So, are Mormons Christian? I'm going to answer with a resounding "yes". If the scripture above from the Book of Mormon doesn't convince you and if the fact that we believe and study the KJV (King James Version) Bible doesn't convince you, I'll offer this:

noun

noun: Christian; plural noun: Christians

1 1.
a person who has received Christian baptism or is a believer in Jesus Christ and his teachings.

Mormons are baptized at the "age of accountability" or later–which means eight years old or older. We are baptized by immersion just as the Savior was. And in addition to Christian baptism, we believe in Jesus Christ and his teachings.

In case you didn't know the actual name of the Mormon Church is "the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints". His name is literally in our church name.

I know there are still going to be people who don't believe members of the LDS (Mormon) Church are Christian even after I've presented my case. You know what though? That's okay. I just want to emphasize that there is happiness in doing good to all people, even though they may have different views and different beliefs.

It's not enough to say you're Christian. Act it.


-Nikita

Author: millennialmormon

I'm a stay at home mom to five awesome kids. I live in Utah and love to crochet, read, do artsy stuff, and scripture journal.

2 thoughts on “Are Mormons Christian?”

  1. Nikki, excellent blog post. I have a question…why did your favorite bible journaling group ask you to leave? Ive been looking into bible journaling; with all of the additional scriptures we have it seems like a great way to enhance scripture study. I’m still not sold on actually drawing in my margins…too many study notes for that but I’m going to start creating bible journaling verses in a multimedia sketch book. It will serve the same purpose.

    Like

    1. Hi Nancy! The creator of the group was very standoffish about my sharing of the “Mormon bible”. She asked me to create my own Bible journaling group for people of my faith because in her opinion my additional scripture “isn’t Christian”.

      Like

Leave a Reply

