Quitting Caffeine Was Seriously the BEST

There are a few things that people know about me. First, I’m a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saint (aka Mormon). There’s a health code that is largely followed by members in my church. Part of that is avoiding drinking beverages like coffee, tea, and alcohol. The second thing that should be known is that for a while I was not an active and participating member of my church. I was also drinking a butt ton of coffee everyday to get through the day. And finally, when I decided my religion was an important part of my life I switched coffee for Coca Cola and it took FOREVER to get it out of my system.
In 2008 I gave birth to my first baby. Things were awesome, but after about 8 months I had to go back to work. I needed a night job that would work with her father’s schedule so I wouldn’t need a baby sitter. And it worked out. I got a job from 3 PM to 12 AM. That was tough, especially since I would get home around 1 AM and then my daughter would wake up around six in the morning. I was running on five hours or less of sleep a night for almost an entire year. So, coffee was a pick me up that quickly became a necessity.

I drank coffee in the morning, I drank coffee with lunch, I drank coffee in the break room–Well, I think you get the point that it was my prime choice of beverage for a while. It helped me out like no other because I needed the energy I wasn’t getting from sleeping.

After a year of living with my daughter’s father things ended. There were a lot of reasons, but one decision that was made was that I needed to move back to Utah from New York because my family was better support for me than his family could ever be. So, we moved two thousand miles back to our home state. Before that I had been getting back into going to church thanks to some sweet sister missionaries. It was something I wanted. Being home surrounded by other people of my faith helped me adjust to my normal life. But getting rid of coffee was incredibly hard.

I don’t know if you know this, but caffeine is crazy addictive and when you first give it up it can be super hard. So, I didn’t give up caffeine. I ended up drinking so much Dr. Pepper and Coca Cola that I gained a bunch of weight. It wasn’t pretty. The sad fact is that it took me another six years to finally give up caffeine laden sodas and that was even worse than the weight I gained. There are some things you should know about ditching caffeine:

  • You’ll feel really groggy and sleepy for at least a week.
  • Get prepared for a massive headache that will last a couple of days.
  • After you get it all out of your system its totally worth it.

Feeling fatigued is going to happen. When you have this highly addictive substance that provides you with false energy in your system and you’re trying to purge it from your system you’re going to feel tired. That because your body is really craving that caffeine and your mind is going to slow you down in hopes that it’ll get its fix. Stay strong. You need resolve to stop drinking caffeine or you’ll just fall right back into it. Make sure it’s something you really want to do.

After you get past the lack of energy and start feeling better, you’ll get a HUGE headache. I’m talking on par with migraines type of headache. If you’re going through a withdrawal of anything you’ll get a headache. And it will make you angry and moody. I had to take the Advil Migraine pills to get through my three days of headache. I’ll be honest too, the pills didn’t always help the headache.
Once you get past the fatigue and headache you’ll just have cravings, but if you’ve made it past the two biggest hurdles you can fight through cravings! Have faith in yourself and make a mental (or physical) list of all the benefits you’re getting from cutting out caffeine. Some of the things I noticed right away were being able to sleep better at night, feeling more energetic during the day because I wasn’t having caffeine crashes every few hours, saved money because I didn’t need a caffeine fix anymore, and a bunch of other things.
Quitting caffeine was probably one of the best decisions I made. I know it’s helped me out a lot with my day-to-day living and it can help you too. It’s a personal decision, but one that can help you for the better.
img_3541
-Nikita
Author: millennialmormon

Nikita is a regular lady who gets through the day one a wing and a prayer and with help from God. She’s a stay-at-home-mom to five crazy awesome kids and is married to her best friend of 22 years. This is her blog about loving Jesus and living life.

Leave a Reply

